Department Prizes

Annual Department Prizes for Undergraduates

These prizes are by faculty nomination, voted on by the entire faculty at the end of the academic year.

  • The Feinstein Prize
    • This prize is awarded to the student in the English Honors Program whose honors thesis and overall work demonstrate the most effective exploration of feelings through language.
  • Sidney Cox Prize in Creative Writing
    • This honor, deliberated upon by the creative writing faculty, goes to the strongest honors thesis or theses in creative writing and for the work which most nearly meets those high standards of originality and integrity which Sidney Cox set for himself and for his students in his teaching.
  • The Hochman Prize
    • This prize is awarded annually to a graduating senior who majored in English and who demonstrated by his or her course work both academic excellence and particular dedication to the field of American literature.
  • The Perkins Prize
    • This prize is awarded to that undergraduate Dartmouth student who shall show the most promise in Greek or Latin, or in English literature.
  • The Stanley Prizes in English
    • Graduate School: This prize is intended to help a promising senior or recent graduate who is going on to graduate school.
    • Most Innovative Paper: The Stanley Prize for an exceptionally innovative paper is awarded to the best undergraduate paper that makes innovative use of an existing theoretical or critical paradigm, or makes particularly creative use of an emerging theoretical paradigm, or that successfully undertakes a striking formal innovation.
    • Service to the Department: This prize is designed to honor that student who has done unusual service within the department and the major.