Major, Minor, and Modified Major


The English major requires the successful completion of eleven major courses. Major courses are, unless otherwise stated, all courses with either the ENGL (English) or CRWT (Creative Writing) course code.

To become an English major, students consult with a faculty member who will act as their major advisor to plan their courses. The Department of English and Creative Writing does not assign major advisors to students. Instead, prospective majors should set up a meeting with a faculty member whose research and teaching align with their interests. Students may also contact the vice chair of the department for major advising.

Students formally elect the major in English by submitting a proposed plan of courses through their DartWorks Planner and meeting with one of the English and creative writing faculty to get approval. At the time of faculty approval the student must also submit a completed and signed major worksheet to the department administrator in Sanborn 202 (you can send your completed worksheet via email). Students must meet with their major advisor a second time in the last term of the junior year or the first term of the senior year in order to review their major plan.

Students electing a concentration in Creative Writing must pass a prerequisite course, CRWT 10, CRWT 11, or CRWT 12 prior to enrolling in any other Creative Writing course. The concentration consists of four courses taken as part of the eleven course major plan.

The modified major requires the successful completion of eleven major courses including four courses from the modifying department. Students may propose a modified major in English by designing a special program of study in consultation with a faculty advisor in the department.

The minor in English requires the successful completion of six major courses. No substitutions and no more than one transfer credit will be permitted.

Committee on Departmental Curriculum

The CDC (Committee on Departmental Curriculum) is a faculty committee that oversees curricular matters. It approves honors proposals and considers petitions from students in relation to the major. At least four department faculty make up the CDC; the Vice Chair of the department chairs the committee. The rest of the membership changes from year to year. Student petitions for the CDC should be given to the department administrator.