2024 Creative Writing Prize Winners

Please join the Department of English and Creative Writing in congratulating the 2024 Creative Writing Prize winners!

The 2024 Creative Writing Prizes Ceremony was held on Thursday, May 9, 2024, at 4:30 p.m. in Sanborn Library, and included readings from the prize winners and this year's judge, Andrea Cohen.

Andrea Cohen's poems and stories have appeared in The New Yorker, Poetry, The Threepenny ReviewThe New York Review of Books, The Atlantic Monthly, The New Republic, Glimmer Train,  etc. A new book of poems, The Sorrow Apartments, is forthcoming from Four Way Books. Other collections include Everything (Four Way, 2021), Nightshade (Four Way, 2019). Unfathoming (Four Way, 2017),  Furs Not Mine (Four Way, 2015), Kentucky Derby (Salmon Poetry, 2011), Long Division (Salmon Poetry, 2009), and The Cartographer's Vacation (Owl Creek Press, 1999). Awards include a Guggenheim Fellowship, Glimmer Train's Short Fiction Award, and several fellowships at MacDowell. Over the years, she has taught at The University of Iowa, Emerson College, UMASS-Boston, Boston University, The Fine Arts Work Center in Provincetown, and Merrimack College, where she was the founding director of the Writers' House. She directs the Blacksmith House Poetry Series in Cambridge, MA, and will be teaching at Boston University in the spring of 2024.

The Sidney Cox Memorial Prize

  • Sanjana Raj, "The Museum of Unnatural History"

Honorable Mentions:

  • Maeve Kenny, "The Four Seasons"
  • Eloise Langan, "Oh, Rats."

The Academy of American Poets Prize

  • Maeve Kenney, Poems

The Jacobson-Laing Award in Poetry

  • Ethan Gearey, "I've Been in Love"
  • Maeve Kenney, Poems

The Mecklin Prize

  • Maeve Kenney, "The Four Seasons"

Honorable Mentions:

  • Armita Mirkarimi, "Nostalgia is a Wishing Well"
  • Eloise Langan, "Saint Bonnie"
  • Natala Schmitter-Emerson, "A Story that Never Ends"

The Grimes Prize

  • Yevheniia Dubrova, "Blue Heron"

The Lockwood Prize

  • Anne Rhee, Poems
  • Jessica Yang, "Pacific Ghosts"

William C. Spengemann Award in Writing

  • Maeve Kenney, "The Four Seasons"

Erskine Caldwell Prize

  • Sanjana Raj, "The Museum of Unnatural History"

Ralston Prize

  • Ulla-Brit Libre