2020 English and Creative Writing High Honors and Prizes Announced

Department of English & Creative Writing

2020 High Honors and Prizes

High Honors in Creative Writing: Amanda Johnson, Betty Kim, Natalia McLaren, Isabel Parks, Kylee Sibilia

High Honors in English: Sofía Carbonell Realme, Katherine Carithers, Jean Fang, Arunav Jain, Cameron Pfaffle, Natalie Vaughan

Sidney Cox Memorial Prize in Creative Writing: This honor goes to the strongest honors thesis in creative writing and for the work which most nearly meets those high standards of originality and integrity which Sidney Cox set for himself and for his students in his teaching.

  •  The Sun City and Other Stories by Amanda Johnson (Advisor: Orner)

Arthur Feinstein 1955 Memorial English Honors Award: This prize is awarded to a senior undergraduate student in the English honors program who best exemplifies Arthur's special sensitivity and ability to influence thoughts and feelings of others through effective use of the English language. It recognizes outstanding quality of honors thesis work.

  • "Sexuality in Slippages: First-Person Narration and Female Desire in David Copperfield and Villette" by Katherine Carithers (Advisor: Harner)

Edward R. Perkins Literature Prize for Excellence in English

  • Sofía Carbonell Realme '20
  • Arunav Jain '20
  • Betty Kim '20
  • Cameron Pfaffle '20

B. William Hochman 1955 Memorial Prize in American Literature: This prize is given in recognition of excellent work in American literature courses.

  • Nicole Salet '20

Stanley Prizes in English

  •     Majors attending Graduate School: Kendall Christensen '19 (PhD in English at UCLA) and Angela Noppenberger '17 (Trinity (Dublin) master's program in children's literature)
  •     Most Innovative Critical Paper: "Bloodstained yet Drained of Blood: Violence and the Homosocial Ritual in the Táin Bó Cúailnge and Sir Garwain and the Green Knight" by Alec (Eugene) Linden '20
  •     Service to the Department: Emma Alter '20, Sofía Carbonell Realme '20, Sophie Huang '21, Arunav Jain '20, Selena-Alicia Martinez '21, Jordan McDonald '21, Cameron Pfaffle'20, and Carlos Polanco '21 for their service on the Faculty Search Student Liaison Committee during Fall 2019.

Eugene H. Kohn '60 Award in English and Creative Writing: This award recognizes the writing of a sophomore or junior in the Department of English and Creative Writing.

  • Ethan Weinstein '21 for his paper, "Hopkins' Poetic Ontology in "As Kingfishers Catch Fire," and "Pied Beauty.""